Skip to content

Lessons Learned

February 9, 2012

Well, we are powering through. It’s not as terrible as I thought it would be, although I was definitely eyeing Liz’s dinner pretty fiercely last night.

I think what it comes down to, as is everything with food and exercise, is that you have to do what works best for you.

I definitely like the idea of a cleanse every once in a while to help flush things out and give my body a re-start. But as I do it, I can’t help but feel that simply eating clean throughout the week + a little exercise is more my speed.

I don’t do well being told that foods are off-limits. I don’t even LIKE avocado, and I was salivating over Lupo’s shoulder as she cut one up for herself yesterday.

In fact, I enjoy food. Not just eating it, but preparing it. Doing this cleanse, I realized how much I really do appreciate wandering through the grocery aisles on a Sunday, and trying new recipes. I like clicking through blogs to find a new dessert, I don’t want to have to avoid them because they make me feel like I’m missing out on something.

I’d prefer to do a quick run and come home to a full meal rather than skip out on the exercise and minimize what I’m taking in. If I’m going to be challenging myself, I don’t want it to be to say no to a granola bar in the afternoon, I want it to be to push myself to run an extra half mile.

I’ve always felt that the hyper awareness of eating so consciously seems dangerous to me. I think once you get into the mode of depriving yourself of certain things, even the smallest splurge feels punishable. For me, the easiest route has always been to try to make smart choices, so that when I do feel like some french fries, or a glass of wine, I’m not beating myself up about it later.

I understand what’s good about the cleanse, and I think those with the right, healthy mindset should give it a try. There’s definitely something to seeing the difference between what you think you need to be eating, and what you actually need to be feeding yourself in order to be productive and alert throughout the day.

For me, I think I’ll stick with what I know best, which means eating well and incorporating a little exercise.

So this morning I went for a quick run, and it felt nice to feel like I was contributing to getting stronger, not just smaller.

And tonight I’m going to the movies.

And I’m getting popcorn. With butter.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

