Skip to content

Bowl Half-Full

February 3, 2012

I’m staring at the candy bowl on my desk, and maybe it’s because it’s a Friday, but it’s become a metaphor for my current work life.

My little candy bowl was born out of the idea that if I provided chocolate treats to my fellow employees when I first started at my current job, then I would make friends.

Readers, this is a successful ploy. I recommend it. Rolos are a surprise hit.

Two years and many a Snicker bar later, the people I have worked with are my favorite part of the job, and are quite literally some of the brightest, quickest, and most creative people in the business.

Exactly a year ago yesterday we were bought by a larger company. My little candy bowl tried to chug along, but all of a sudden there were too many people in the office for it to supply, and the charm of stopping by for a chat and a Hershey kiss seemed less likely with 200 new strangers.

Once we were settled, our new parent company began to set out giant bowls of candy and treats in the kitchen. Suddenly, my sad little candy bowl could not compare to the full size candy bars and peanut butter cups that people were getting in unlimited quantities. Visits slowed to a halt, and my trips to the candy store became less frequent.

Thus, was the death of my candy bowl. Now it sits empty on my desk, remembering the days when its new friends depended on it for an afternoon pick-me-up.

Like my bowl, I’m beginning to feel the same way. Although the people and the company that I have been with over the past few years has shaped my professional self, and made me a smarter, quicker, and more aware young-adult, I am slowly beginning to feel outgrown. Our new parent company brings a new budget, which brings new hires, and new and different ways to grow.

I had a phone call with a woman in San Francisco yesterday about a new job. It wasn’t an interview, just a contact through a friend, but it refocused this move in a very new way for me. Not only will I be living in a new city, but I will be working in a new office since the beginning of my career. I will have to start from scratch all over again. I’ll learn new places to go for lunch, and where the printers are and who to go to about questions, and I’ll do it without the team that has made me feel like I’m qualified enough to make this move in the first place.

In some ways it’s a little scary. The people who have given me the confidence to become a contributing member to any team and who have assisted an invaluable amount in my transition from just another college grad won’t be behind me anymore.

I don’t know what my new co-workers will be like, or if I’ll be able to create the same special environment there that I have been so lucky to be a part of here.

I don’t know if I’ll make new friends, or finally be able to crack into the industry that I have wanted to be a part of for years. I don’t know if I’ll have the courage to try and make my mark there.

But I do know that I’m ready for this change, and that I will be taking advantage of this crazy new opportunity to its fullest extent.

Plus, no one can resist a candy bowl.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

