Skip to content

Springing into Action

January 8, 2012

Well, it may feel like the holiday season just wrapped up, but here in New York, it also feels like Spring.

Liz and I decided to take full advantage of the bike rental groupon she got me for my birthday, so we hit the streets on this lovely 60 degree day. Armed with nothing but a pb&j sandwich, water bottle, and camera, we rode down from the Upper West Side, through the West Village (where we dropped off some soup to my sick sister!), down to Battery Park where we said hello to Lady Liberty, and looped right back up through the East side.

By the time we dropped off our bikes, we were STARVED and headed straight to Shake Shack for a shackburger and some fries. Delightful.

It felt really good to get a little activity into the day. This past week in New York was FRIGID, and I lost all motivation to lug myself to the gym once I made it home to my warm apartment after work. I also seemed to catch a bit of a bug, and decided that since my body was probably still recovering from New Year’s, I could give it a break.

But, since I need to begin the new year with more than just cheese fries, I thought a day of enjoyable exercise would be the perfect way to remind my body that it actually can do things other than sit on the couch, sleep, and type.

I also had to remind it that tostitos, red wine, and cheese are not their own food groups, and that going to bed at 3:30 isn’t the best way to get a good night’s sleep.

More important than what I’m eating, though, is what I’m doing. Let’s take a look, shall we?

The ladies! Alex, Bridget, Colleen, Bridge and Carrie!

New Year’s Success

Don’t worry, we were also a little productive. Ice skating in New York? Check!

Nachos and cocktails, what more could a girl ask for?

Our noble steeds!

PHOTO-BOMBED!

And now, my friends, it’s time for a shower. Hope you are all enjoying your weekends too.

Happy Saturday night!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

