Skip to content

Soul Food

December 30, 2011

So, I often complain about working out. I complain about it before I do it. I complain about it after I do it, and I complain to myself while I do it. I wish I could say I’m the type of person who laces up their sneakers, or unrolls their mat, and finds inner peace or a mental escape. I don’t. I pretty much count how long I can do it to make it worth it, without having to do it for very long.

It’s a bad attitude.

Now let me tell you. This all changed the day my boss introduced me to Soul-Cycle. He paid for the first lesson because unfortunately it’s $30 a pop + shoe rentals. This reason alone, is why I am not in there everyday. It’s a 45 minute class, which is generally my threshold for working out and it’s AWESOME.

I know that’s super descriptive but honestly, it’s a solid block of serious music, serious energy and serious sweating. It’s arms, it’s core, it’s legs and it’s exactly what I needed to pump off those cookies I nibbled away at last night.

It also doesn’t hurt that I have a secret crush on my instructor. This helps the motivation, but is less great for a love connection as I am generally drenched by the time I walk out, with my hair matted to my forehead. It’s a good look.

Not to sound like a cult member, but beginning Soul-Cycle was the first time since the lacrosse field where I felt like I was building strength while having fun. It introduced exercise to me as something that I could actually enjoy and grow into, something that could become a part of my everyday, a positive part. It also opened me up to trying out other things. I actually know what Yoga instructors are saying when they call out positions in class, and I feel proud after I make it through that extra half mile. I even tried my friend’s Indian dancing class. I mean, come on.

So here I am. A convert. Someone who values how I feel after a good workout, and someone who suddenly appreciates a little bit of soreness the next day. Of course there are days when I don’t want to snap myself onto a bike, or run a ring around the park, and on about half of those days, I don’t. I take a day off, and then, despite myself, I look forward to getting back in the saddle (or bike seat) again. So then I do, and when I do, it feels right. Right in a different way then sitting on the couch, but right nonetheless.

In the new year, I’m not going to vow to lose 10 pounds, or wish for a six pack. I’m going to accept the fact that I may be in a circumstantial relationship with exercise. The circumstance being that I need it to be healthy and to feel good. But beyond that, I am going to remember that I can have a little fun with it too.

So what do you say? Let’s use this new year to find a little calm in our lives, whether it may come in the form of a jog, a stretch, a cycle, or some good old fashioned sit ups.

After the several rounds of musical flip cup I’ll be putting my body through on New Year’s eve, I’ll owe it this.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

