Skip to content

Law and Order

December 13, 2011

No, I couldn’t be more generic and yes, I did try to think of alternative titles for this post.

About a week ago we had a Groupon for a maid, and because we are secret slobs, we figured we’d take advantage of it. I worked from home that morning, barricaded in my room, and apparently, while I was typing away, our maid was plucking a diamond necklace from my roommate Lupo’s bedroom.

After apologizing profusely to Lupo, again, for being incredibly unobservant during the clean, Lupo informed us two cops would be coming to our apartment to get the story. I hurried through making lunch (for the week) and dinner, to prepare for the big event. I am aware that this is me taking pleasure in my friend’s pain, but I love SVU, and I think I can now almost say I’m a real New Yorker.

I finally forced myself to tupperware it up for lunch, but it’s delightful!

1 cup of wild rice

1 1/2 cup of water

1 tsp. of butter

1/2 onion

2 cloves of garlic

As much kale as you can handle!

7 cherry tomatoes (cut into quarters)

Salt and Pepper

Goat cheese

I sautéed the kale and tomatoes separately, but in olive oil with a little salt and pepper for each until the kale was covered and had softened a little (not too much!) and until the tomato skin looked a little puckered.

I mixed the rice, water, butter, onion and garlic together, then added the kale and tomatoes, and a little goat cheese for some creaminess. Super easy, colorful, crunchy and warm. Perfect before a night in the slammer.

Just kidding. We’re not suspects. I think.

After lunch was in the fridge, I realized I didn’t have too long until our visitors arrived so I fried an egg on a whole wheat english muffin, topped it with a few slabs of sharp cheese, and called it a day.

Oh, plus sliced apple for a little tang.

So, now to the good stuff. Once the cops arrived, they took our statements, wrote up a report, checked our windows for burglary, and talked us through the procedure, which will involve real detectives and probably a pawn shop. They also told Lupo she had a 1% chance of finding it. So, there’s that.

It was pretty non-dramatic, but let’s be real, that’s how I’d like it, and plus, they were here and they had radios and there are suspects!

Lupo is currently looking pretty dejected in our living room chair, and since I don’t think I have the heart to glow anymore about our apartment’s grand larceny until it’s solved, let’s keep our fingers crossed.
Until next time. Or, tomorrow.

DUNDUN.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

