Skip to content

The most wonderful time of the year

December 1, 2011

Uh oh. It’s that time of year. The trees are lining the sidewalks, the Christmas songs are on the radio, my roommate Liz is running around the apartment hanging our stockings, and I am helplessly and predictably, running behind on Christmas shopping.

You know those people who get it all over with in November?

I am not one of them.

I’m barely one of the people who gets in done in December. Along with heaping helping of Christmas cookies, candy canes, peppermint tea and scribbled Secret Santa names, the holiday season inevitably brings with it the steady stream of holiday guilt. I do everything else right! I baked my first batch of cut out cookies two-weeks ago, and I have been wrestling with the 60 degree weather to wear wool since October.

So this year, in keeping with my general holiday enthusiasm, and in my last attempt to enjoy the city as an authentic New Yorker,  I am promising to skate across every city ice rink, gaze cheerfully at every store window, and most especially, I am VOWING to get my Christmas shopping done before I get home. Though I do enjoy the festive jolt of scrambling last-minute, wide-eyed through the Maine Mall on the 24th, my hands blindly surrendering to what’s left on the shelves, it might be nice to instead spend that time on my couch. Watching Home Alone. With a holiday cocktail. Right?

I think so. Don’t worry, I’ve been listening to Christmas music since Halloween to prepare.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

