Skip to content

Vacation is over?

November 27, 2011

My parents are off to the Met with my sister, a trip I snuck out of on the premise of needing some extra sleep this morning.

Being as great as they are, they left a Sbucks on my nightstand before they left, and now I can rummage through the pies leftover from yesterday for my breakfast.

Yesterday was a success! My sister, Bridget, cooked up a storm in the kitchen and by the time she was done, we had a really spectacular dinner. Brussell sprouts, sweet potatoes with brown sugar, spicy squash, mashed potatoes with chives, candied almonds, scallops and most importantly, lobster rolls!

Being from Maine, my parents wanted to bring something to the table (literally) for today’s meal, so we boxed up some lobster meat so my sister could make lobster rolls. They were delish, and it was kind of fun having a seafood themed Thanksgiving.

My sister and her boyfriend are vegetarians, and though I do enjoy a good steak, it’s nice to see how creative they can get without the proteins I always deem necessary for a complete meal. The turkey was heavenly on Thursday, but I surprised myself by not missing it so much yesterday.

Who am I kidding? I have turkey in the fridge.

Since I’m just wading into the blog pool, I am still low budging you all and taking pictures with my phone. I think I’m going to ask for a camera for Christmas so I can better capture everything I try to post on here. Are you sick of the hipstamatic picture effect yet?

Our slap-shod dining table!

Bleu cheese, award winning Sharp cheddar, and something fancy and Spanish + truffle honey and pomegranate sauce. It was a pretty great mix.

That is one ghetto picture.

The spread!

Turns out, vegan gravy is not so terrible!

Pecan, apple, and pumpkin pies + homemade cookies and chocolates!

The party people.

My sister, the chef!

Parents!

We made it to the end of the meal feeling like real adults for hosting our parents. Then we remembered that adults serve coffee after dinner, right?

I do have a coffee maker. I do not have coffee. (I was on vacation!)

Good thing we live across the street from Sbucks!

It was the perfect ending to a perfect dinner.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

