Skip to content

Victory march

November 21, 2011

While everyone in the tri-state area and Pennsylvania ran the Marathon today, I completed my own personal triumph. Namely, getting out of the apartment. What can I say? To each their own.

It’s been 5 DAYS since that cold knocked me out, and I am finally beginning to emerge from my bedroom and into the sunlight.

On Thursday, my roommates and I attempted to make Hot Toddies (they are medicinal!)

Now, I am not a whiskey girl. I am strictly wine. I can barely choke down a beer unless it’s  cheap and essentially tastes like water (Coors light anyone?)

But THESE were good. I don’t know if it’s because my nose was so stuffy I could barely taste it, or because Alex is a stellar mixologist, but they were delightful! Water, bourbon, lemon, and honey seemed daunting to me, the queen of mixers, but it was unexpectedly enjoyable!

The rest of the week moved at a glacial pace, as I maneuvered through a heavy pre-holiday workload, tissues, and a bottle of Theraflu.

FINALLY though, I am back in business, just in time to head home for Thanksgiving and to enjoy today’s unseasonable warm weather.

Carrie and I headed downtown where we brunched at Saxon+Parole. I had a massive BLT with avocado on whole grain and then we split cinnamon donuts with a vanilla bean dipping sauce. I would have taken a picture, but I was too busy inhaling it. Don’t worry, I’ll definitely head back there to document soon.

After that, we strolled around Soho for some shopping and then headed home for a quiet Sunday evening. Now my roommates are home and we’re about to settle in for the Woody  Allen documentary on PBS. We are wild.

Maine tomorrow!!!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

