Skip to content

Sick day

November 16, 2011

I could feel it creeping in last night. I tried to dull it with cheese, leading my roommate Alex and I to split a family sized dip between the two of us. Despite my efforts, as I tossed and turned last night, my throat became scratchy and sore, and by the time my alarm went off this morning, I was reaching for my computer to e-mail my boss.

Sick day.

Although I have been answering emails for much of the day, it really does make a difference to be able to answer them in your pajamas while watching a True Life marathon. Working from home also allows me to blow my nose every 15 seconds without feeling the eyes of my fellow cube-mates, and to guzzle an entire carton of orange juice in an afternoon.

It also gives you a little time to prepare a vitamin popping breakfast and lunch to chase the sniffles and steady deepening of my voice away!

I started with some hot oatmeal topped with bananas, brown sugar, peanut butter, and granola.  Plus some Hazelnut coffee, it did the trick.


After many an email and a few phone calls, I decided an early lunch at home is allowed. Last night I tried to re-create a crunchy, tasty kale salad that my friend prepared for dinner at her house the other night.

After cutting up some kale, and shredding the Brussel sprouts, I tossed the greens in with the homemade dressing. So easy, and so perfect for feeling like you’re doing something right for yourself…even if you do follow it up by eating half a bag of chocolate chips.

1/2 cup olive oil
2 tablespoons whole wheat mustard
1 clove or garlic, minced
1/2 cup of lemon juice

Mix everything but the olive oil first, and then slowly whisk it in. If you want to, sprinkle some parmesan on it.

I added some cheese and crackers to it for a little extra something.


Ok, off to finish some emails and drink some more tea.

Maybe cheese doesn’t solve everything.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

