Skip to content

A Sweet Sunday

November 14, 2011

Happy Sunday!

Today was one of those rare days in a 4-person apartment, when I had the whole day to myself. I’m usually not the type of person who likes having a whole quiet day ahead of me, I prefer to have someone to walk to Starbucks or watch a Sunday movie with, but today turned out to be just the ticket.

After doing a little cleaning, and a verrry brief run, I remembered that I had promised to bring a dessert for my friend’s birthday party tomorrow night.

Luckily, I had something in mind.

For my birthday last month, my spectacular friends took me out to a nearby restaurant, Jones Wood Foundry. If you know me, you know I love pie. I more than love pie. If I were on death row, pie would be my last meal. And french fries.

Anyway! At the restaurant, to my delight, my birthday candle appeared before me in a delicate slice of Banoffee pie. It was my first time ever having it. In fact, I had never even heard of it, but the moment I tried it, it was love. Since then, I have been dying for an excuse to give it a try that won’t end with me licking the pie pan alone.

If you’re ever in a pinch for a simple, and crowd pleasing dessert, especially with the holidays coming up, I think I may have found it for us. So far, it’s been a cinch.

If you have a favorite flaky pie crust recipe, you should use it for this. My go-to recipe happens to be the best thing that my roommate got from her ex-boyfriend. His mother passed it onto her, and for that, we will forever be grateful.

1 Cup flour

1/2 tspn salt

1/3 cup crisco

2 – 4 tbspn of ice water

Use a pastry blender or a fork to combine flour, crisco and salt until light crumbs form. Add water a little bit at a time until dough is moist enought to hold together like a ball. Don’t make it too sticky. If you do, add a little more flour.Flatten into  disc.  Roll out onto a piece of waxed paper until thin. Make sure your waxed paper and your roller are floured.  Flip paper over into 9 inch pie plate. (no need to grease the plate).  Crimp edges into a design if you want.  Otherwise, just pinch dough between your fingers so edges are clean.

Stick the crust into the oven at 450 degrees for about 12 minutes or until nice and toasty brown.

After the crust is set, I melted one stick of butter on medium heat (careful not to burn!). Once the butter was done, I added 1/2 cup brown sugar and stirred until smooth. Finally, I poured one 14 oz. can of condensed milk into the pot. You should stir these all together until it darkens, to more of a toffee shade.

After it boils for a few minutes, pour into the crust and tuck it in the refrigerator to cool. Since I’m not serving it until tomorrow, I’m waiting until then to slice up the bananas and hand-whip the heavy cream cream for the topping. If you’re serving it the same day, let it cool for at least an hour before adding anything to the top.

Basically…this is what I’m hoping for:

Yum. I adapted the recipe from Saveur Magazine, but added a pastry crust, since that’s what I’d had at Jones Wood Foundry (and since the filling itself can be super sweet!).

I will update with documentation of my finished product tomorrow, but in the meantime, try it! You won’t regret it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

