Skip to content

Back on Track (mostly)

January 26, 2012

Ok friends. After many a meal topped with fried cheese, Alex and I both decided that it was time to kick ourselves back into gear. While others were strapping on their spinning shoes and rolling out their yoga mats after the new year, we were lounging in our pjs and losing our gym cards.

We’ve had enough! We have several weddings in our very near future, of which we are a visible part of, and no one wants to be the girl who ruins pictures! (Secret: if you’re tan, you’ll never ruin them!)

So this week we vowed to get back on track. With our workouts, with our eating, with our lives!

Monday was a long day followed up from a Sunday night that was chock-full of work. I work for an internet newspaper that recently launched an international version, and as someone who helps nudge those launches along, I had to be up in U.S. time when it was morning across the pond.

Delightful.

One perk of a. working for an internet company and b. working all night, is that you’re allowed to work from home the next day. I slept in a little on Monday morning, fielded my way through emails and tech bugs, and hit the gym around lunch so I could re-train my body on how to run without the typical after-work crowd watching.

The run was surprisingly enjoyable, though not as long as usual, and as always (though I always forget) I felt invigorated afterwards. Me and my 3 hours of sleep made the trek to the grocery store so I could whip up my week’s lunch, which I did while slowwwwly navigating through afternoon emails and, well, watching 30 Rock.

I landed on the most healthy sounding salad I could find via tastespotting. Do you know tastespotting? It’s my dream blog. It basically lets people like me endlessly browse recipes collected from a ton of blogs and recipe sites across the web. It’s great for me since I’m not always creative enough to come up with something new, but I love to spice up my weekly meals.

Tastespotting directed me to Iowa Girl Eats, a blog I had never visited before but will definitely be returning to. Why, do you ask? Well, this salad was da bomb. It was like a beach vacation in a bowl, and was super easy to try in different ways, whether sprinkled over a bed of spinach or rolled up in a tortilla. This is key.

Iowa Girl Eats also has a recipe for these babies, which are not very far into the future.

Blueberry Top Cookies.

In the meantime, we’re thinking health this week, so check it out.

I made the dressing and I really do suggest it. The salad sops it up without getting mushy and it adds to the fresh taste a ton.  I’d also cool it on the onion, I only used half and it felt like a lot, so when you use it, dice it up!

The fitness teamsters!

Oh, did I mention I made cookie dough cupcakes this weekend?

I got this recipe from How Sweet It Is. Jessica’s blog has been a favorite of mine for a long time, it was one of the first ones that really got me into the blog community, and I think her voice is hilarious. Besides being all around charming, all her desserts are to die for, and she has taught me just how easy it is to get lured into a day of baking by a picture of frosting.

Ok, though, that was this weekend. This WEEK has been good. I’ve gone for runs every day, and even managed to do a few extra minutes on the eliptical today. It really does help your daily decisions, whether you run 1 mile or 10 miles. My food choices have been cleaner and I sleep more soundly. Win, win!

So keep me honest. I’m going to do my best to exercise everyday (even if it’s just some living room yoga) for the next week. After that, my habit of falling asleep in a plate of nachos should be broken and if I get really lucky, I may even grow to like this work out thing.

What do you say, are you with me?

Just a tip, make the cupcakes first.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 26, 2012 4:39 pm

    omg – those cupcakes?! I die!

    Thanks for the shout out – glad you enjoyed the salad! :)

    • kane44 permalink*
      January 26, 2012 4:48 pm

      I did! Thanks in advance all your delicious recipes, I will be making my way through them.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

